23
Mar
11

A Crisis of Faith, Part 1

Having been raised a Catholic in the Archdiocese of Philadelphia, I’ve been following the recent scandals quite a bit.  I can’t imagine the grief felt by the core group of victims. What a hardship it must be to see an ideal of perfection in a form that it so completely fallible, and in way that so violates a sacred bond of trust. I wonder, though, about the private emotional battles existing in the minds and hearts of many area Catholics who are questioning their faith in a system that may not have their best interests at heart.  If the image of the Church has been put above the welfare of its parishioners, how can it possibly see for the beam in its own eye?  Part of me stands in awe at the ability and ease with which the Church sought to cover up these allegations and in wonderment at the parishioners who knew what was happening to the victims and SAID NOTHING.  What do you say to someone to convince them that an act so deplorable should not be openly condemned?


5 Responses to “A Crisis of Faith, Part 1”


  1. March 23, 2011 at 2:19 pm

    I’m not a Catholic so it’s been hard for me to understand why so many still belong to the church. I believe that if this had happened in some other institution, that those same people would be completely up and arms to possibly disband the group.
    It finally dawned on me one day that these people COUNDN’T leave the church. Much of their whole being IS THE CHURCH. To be out of the church would be like being cast adrift in the ocean. Complete disorientation would occur.
    I understand a little better now and I just pray for everyone, I just pray for everyone over and over.

  2. 2 unitedwelay1
    May 16, 2011 at 5:07 pm

    I think the probably would disband the group. Who wouldn’t riot if a school were housing and hiding child molesters? Just because their whole being is the church doesn’t mean they couldn’t leave it. Maybe that would be a serious deterrent. Mabye shunning is a practice we should revive in instances of rape, murder, and molestation. It’s only “cruel and unusual” if the courts order it. If we do it on our own, it’s a pretty powerful social symbol.

  3. December 31, 2012 at 7:55 am

    I’m extremely inspired with your writing talents and also with the format on your weblog. Is that this a paid subject or did you modify it your self? Anyway stay up the excellent high quality writing, it’s uncommon to
    look a great weblog like this one these days.
    .

  4. January 5, 2013 at 4:09 am

    Simply desire to say your article is as surprising.
    The clarity in your post is just great and i
    can assume you are an expert on this subject. Well with your permission let me to grab your
    feed to keep updated with forthcoming post. Thanks a million and please carry on the rewarding work.

  5. June 9, 2018 at 5:34 am

    Hello mates, its impressive article on the topic of cultureand fully explained, keep
    it up all the time.


Leave a comment


Disclaimer

I am not perfect. I do my best to practice what I preach, but I am human. My mantra is, "DO NO HARM". I may not always succeed, but I will always try. My goal is to be a better person today than I was yesterday.

Fair Use Notice

FAIR USE NOTICE: This site contains copyrighted material the use of which has not always been specifically authorized by the copyright owner. We are making such material available in our efforts to advance understanding of environmental, political, human rights, economic, democracy, scientific, and social justice issues, etc. We believe this constitutes a 'fair use' of any such copyrighted material as provided for in section 107 of the US Copyright Law. In accordance with Title 17 U.S.C. Section 107, the material on this site is distributed without profit to those who have expressed a prior interest in receiving the included information for research and educational purposes. For more information go to: http://www.law.cornell.edu/uscode/17/107.shtml. If you wish to use copyrighted material from this site for purposes of your own that go beyond 'fair use', you must obtain permission from the copyright owner. Incidentally, this notice itself was swiped from Spiiderweb and Dave Away From Home