15
Sep
08

Vice-President Mommy

I have a real problem with Sarah Palin, and it has a lot more to do with how she is taking care of her family than her warped view on the issues.  In the week since the convention I haven’t heard Ms. Palin say much, unless she was attacking someone, but her actions have been speaking for her.  She has been interviewed, she has been on the road, and she ha been extremely busy, as any vice-presidential candidate would be.  So my question is this: Who is taking care of her baby?

She has five children, the youngest with Downs Syndrome.  Taking care of a child with special needs is difficult.  I should know, my parents have been doing it for 27 years now.  It’s incredibly time consuming.  The other children can get lost in the mix because their parents are stressed, distracted, and often dealing with doctors and other care professionals.  If Ms. Palin becomes vice-president, who will be taking care of this child?  Will it be the same person who was looking after Bristol when she was having sex at 16 (or younger)?

Despite all of the reasons I would not consider voting for Sarah Palin and John McCain, the strongest is that she has a young child, and though it may be biased, it is a reality.  Babies need their mothers at home.  They need their fathers, too, but you cannot run on a “family values” platform and leave your young children in the care of someone else.  If you want to be in politics, wait until your children are at least five years old.  Anyone with small children should be putting their family above themselves, regardless of the job description.

9 Responses to “Vice-President Mommy”


  1. September 15, 2008 at 9:41 am

    wow. Ok. I hate Sarah Palin. There. I’ve said it. But I also know that there are times moms are going to be away to do something important… something that involves preparing the future for their kids and other kids. I don’t think we’d have this discussion if we were discussing a man with a disabled child running for office! Because we’re still all under that sexist notion that moms NEED to be home with their kids all the time… or at least a big portion of the time.

    Babies do not “need” their mothers at home. There are plenty of single moms out there working to keep food on the table who can tell you that. There are plenty of singly moms with disabled kids working to put food on the table who can tell you that as well.

    Let’s face it, there are also plenty of 16 year olds with stay-at-home moms who get pregnant as well.

    Taking care of a child with special needs IS difficult. I’ve raised 4 of them… and three of them went from “this child will never function” to “this kid looks pretty normal to me” in the first 14 or so years of their lives. Oh, I raised four of them working AND getting a college education from “sorry, your kid will be in a chair all her life” to “mom, can I try out for track this year?”

    There are a heck of a lot of reasons to hate Sarah Palin. And she’s a hypocrite because she verbally espouses the same ideas you have in this entry yet goes on the road 24/7… but it isn’t what she’s DOING that’s wrong, it’s what she’s SAYING.

    You’re right about one thing though: your entry today IS biased.

  2. 2 ellesbeth
    September 15, 2008 at 3:43 pm

    I agree with you both. But because it is not pc people have ignored the fact the ms Palin got pregnant during her first term as governor and at 44. Pregnancy in your forties isn’t easy for anyone. I assume it was unplanned and shows her lack of lack of judgement, accidents happen but after 4 kids you know you can get pregnant. It was careless. And given a choice most moms would prefer to stay with their children when they’re toddlers. And many working moms raise fantastic kids, I don’t think Sarah is one of them. I hate her too. Lies and hypocrisy are more damaging to children than a working mom. Thank you both for your comments. Regardless, I hope the troopergate issue gets her powermonging publicly confirmed before the elections. Though I’m sure the Republicans will spin this as a political vendetta against their candidate.

  3. 3 unitedwelay1
    September 15, 2008 at 8:46 pm

    Kate,
    Obviously you’re not a regular, so you don’t really understand my position fully. I am a working mother with a stressful job, but I do what I do because I have to take care of my family. I don’t think that mothers working is wrong, but I think that workaholic mothers who don’t spend much time with their newborn children are screwing them up, especially since their selfish behavior will most likely continue throughout the child’s life when the onfluence of a parent is mos critical.

    I have a sister who was never supposed to walk, talk, or live past the age of 2 and now she’s 27 and married to a wonderful man, so I understand special needs, too. My mom worked while she was raising us,at night, while my father was at home, and she was home with us during the most critical yearas of our lives, from infant to 4. I haven’t been able to do that with my son, but I come home directly after work, spend time with him until he goes to be,and plan lots of family activites on the weekend. Because I value my family.

    And yes, it is biased. Because a father does not have the same bond with a newborn as a mother, and that’s just plain fact.

    Ellesbeth,
    I agree with you!

  4. September 16, 2008 at 7:53 pm

    Well, I don’t get personal with candidates. They can be the biggest assholes in the world, but what I really care about is how they will lead or not lead the country. The only thing I like about Palin is she’s a fellow gun nut. There probably are a few other things I agree with, but she’s whacked on environmental issues, something else I care about. And she’s against abortion in cases of rape and incest, something I completely differ on.

  5. 5 unitedwelay1
    September 16, 2008 at 8:11 pm

    zombie,
    Usually I agre with you, but when a candidate’s personal values are directly in opposition to their platform, I have a problem with that. ou can’t be a devotee of family values while neglecting your own children and you can’t go around touting absitnece only when you haven’t been able to instill the value in your own daughter.

  6. September 16, 2008 at 8:42 pm

    I agree with you in principle, although we should point out that she’s well-off enough to get professional help with the kids. Having said that, Mom (or “The First Dude”) needs to be there as often as possible, but I get the impression the kids come second to her career.

    Any way you slice it, I wouldn’t vote for under ANY circumstances.

  7. 7 Deb
    September 18, 2008 at 11:15 pm

    I TOTALLY agree with you on this. As usual, great minds think alike 😉

  8. 8 unitedwelay1
    September 19, 2008 at 6:45 pm

    OP,
    I think you’re right. The kids probably aren’t her first priority. Or her second. Or third. I doubt they’re his, either.

    Deb,
    Thanks

  9. 9 Laura
    January 18, 2009 at 8:15 pm

    Thank God she didn’t win. Palin, other than being hot, is a direct reflection of the end-result of the American public education system, followed only by Kelly Pickler’s “So You Think You’re Smarter Than A 5th Grader?” appearance. Pathetic.

    But your entire argument is sexist. Before you disagree, consider this.

    Your argument is that no parent should take on a demanding role such as the presidency until their child is 5.

    Caroline Kennedy was three when she was crawling under that Oval Office desk, wasn’t she? And JFK Junior was born shortly after his father took office.

    I know I won’t change your mind. But I know what you can kiss. 🙂

    Have a nice day.


Leave a Reply

Top Posts

Disclaimer

I am not perfect. I do my best to practice what I preach, but I am human. My mantra is, "DO NO HARM". I may not always succeed, but I will always try. My goal is to be a better person today than I was yesterday.

Fair Use Notice

FAIR USE NOTICE: This site contains copyrighted material the use of which has not always been specifically authorized by the copyright owner. We are making such material available in our efforts to advance understanding of environmental, political, human rights, economic, democracy, scientific, and social justice issues, etc. We believe this constitutes a 'fair use' of any such copyrighted material as provided for in section 107 of the US Copyright Law. In accordance with Title 17 U.S.C. Section 107, the material on this site is distributed without profit to those who have expressed a prior interest in receiving the included information for research and educational purposes. For more information go to: http://www.law.cornell.edu/uscode/17/107.shtml. If you wish to use copyrighted material from this site for purposes of your own that go beyond 'fair use', you must obtain permission from the copyright owner. Incidentally, this notice itself was swiped from Spiiderweb and Dave Away From Home

