09
Jul
08

Support This Troop

War does a lot of things to a lot of people.  Some find a renewal of faith and others lose it completely.  For nus, those who have stayed on the sidelines and watched this comedy of errors continue year after year, it is impossible to judge the young men and women who serve.  You would expect that fellow soldiers would understand and accept the changes in their comrades as “part of the experience”.  Many become more religious, more patriotic, more etc…, but some do not.  Some let go of their deeply ingrained beliefs, question what life is all about, and change who they are.  This soldier did just that, and because the Army and his fellow soldiers didn’t like what he was saying, it caused a shitstorm.

Army Spc. Jeremy Hall was told that “…because I can’t put my personal beliefs aside and pray with troops I wouldn’t make a good leader”.  He was asked to leave a table at Thanksgiving because he wouldn’t say Grace.  He is currently suing the military, not for money, but for the promise of religious freedom.  This poor young man joined the Army believing that he was doing something good for our nation and its people. All he has found is that he has to defend his own rights.  We owe him and all the other true defenders of freedom a collective apology.

4,114 US soldiers killed in Iraq (apparently not defending religious freedom), 30,275 US soldiers wounded in Iraq

7 Responses to “Support This Troop”


  1. July 9, 2008 at 8:47 am

    WOW! Fascinating post, really ties in with some of the things I’ve arguing with people about on other blogs.

  2. 2 Deb
    July 11, 2008 at 10:19 pm

    Interesting. I did not know about this particular story.

  3. July 12, 2008 at 1:05 pm

    The only legitimate religion is Christianity – DUH… so they’re defending religious freedom and the ideals of our Christian founded nation… (gags). Stories like this, that bring out the whining “oppressed” Christians really make me vomit in my mouth. Yeah, they’re so oppressed by the few of us that choose to challenge their hegemonic dominance. Rrrrgh

  4. July 14, 2008 at 7:30 pm

    Here, here!

    I’m an atheist, but I always try to be respectful of my religious friends and expect the same courtesy in reply, but it rarely happens. Having said that, there are atheists who are as bad about stepping on the religious aa the religious are them.

    Intolerance of any kind ain’t cool, especially in a place where the highest of our country’s ideals are supposed to lead the day and when a person put’s their life on the line to uphlold those ideals.

  5. July 15, 2008 at 3:41 pm

    How weird. I have known several atheists, agnostics, wiccans, and they never had any trouble with the system. The only guy who caught flack was one who wanted to put sub-genius as his religion.

  6. July 15, 2008 at 10:44 pm

    Very informative. I did not know this story.

    You and I have been consistently AGAIST the war since its inception.

    Frankly, I blame the entire economic failures, high prices, high unemployment, and high food on none another than W!

    Hope you and your family are well.
    b

  7. December 11, 2009 at 11:15 am

    Stunning, I didn’t know about this topic till now. Thankz.


Leave a Reply

Top Posts

Disclaimer

I am not perfect. I do my best to practice what I preach, but I am human. My mantra is, "DO NO HARM". I may not always succeed, but I will always try. My goal is to be a better person today than I was yesterday.

Fair Use Notice

FAIR USE NOTICE: This site contains copyrighted material the use of which has not always been specifically authorized by the copyright owner. We are making such material available in our efforts to advance understanding of environmental, political, human rights, economic, democracy, scientific, and social justice issues, etc. We believe this constitutes a 'fair use' of any such copyrighted material as provided for in section 107 of the US Copyright Law. In accordance with Title 17 U.S.C. Section 107, the material on this site is distributed without profit to those who have expressed a prior interest in receiving the included information for research and educational purposes. For more information go to: http://www.law.cornell.edu/uscode/17/107.shtml. If you wish to use copyrighted material from this site for purposes of your own that go beyond 'fair use', you must obtain permission from the copyright owner. Incidentally, this notice itself was swiped from Spiiderweb and Dave Away From Home

