30
Jun
08

You Can’t Have Him

I fully agree that this ad seems a little contrived and is definitely cheesy, but the concept is correct.  People are not paying enough attention to McCain’s stance on the Iraq war.  I know the economy sucks and that’s a pressing issue for all of us, but while we’re being steered to pay attention to the economy, people are still dying in Iraq, and familes are separated.  According to McCain, things could be that way for a very long time.  Long enough that my son could actually be affected by this stupid, illegal, and immoral war.  I agree with Alex’s mom.  i will travel to the ends of the Earth if I have to, but Mr. McCain, YOU CANNOT HAVE MY SON. EVER.

4,110 US soldiers have been killed in Iraq (again, this number does not reflect those who have died of injuries once they have air-lifted out of the country) 30,247 Us soldiers have been wounded in Iraq

7 Responses to “You Can’t Have Him”


  1. June 30, 2008 at 10:25 am

    I have a daughter and he can’t have her either.

  2. 2 unitedwelay1
    June 30, 2008 at 12:09 pm

    I think she’s safe for a while. I highly doubt that the Republicans, the “family values” people, will condone sending anyone’s daughters into combat. Our sons are fair game, though. Their sons – well, that’s a completely different thing.

  3. July 1, 2008 at 4:45 pm

    Lots of daughters are already there and have died in “non-combat” roles. That being said, no one “took” them. They volunteered to join the military with a full awareness that joining the military includes the possibility (and if they joined in the last 5 years or so the near certainty) of being sent somewhere where people will try and kill them.
    And frankly, it isn’t your decision. It will be theirs in about 18 years.

  4. 4 unitedwelay1
    July 2, 2008 at 8:27 am

    Exmi,
    While that may be true now, I can’t see how we can continue this war “for the next 100 years” as McCain has said without a draft or some sort of mandatory service. I know that many women have died in non-combat roles, and I know you don’t think that I take that lightly or am glossing over that fact. I also think we need to stop using the fact that these people volunteered for service as a crutch to support the war. The volunteered for service, but that is not an excuse to use them for illegal and immoral purposes to support the oil industry.

  5. July 2, 2008 at 3:16 pm

    Well you know we disagree on the whole “illegal and immoral” aspects of the war. And I am still totally unconvinced that this war was fought for oil. It would have been much cheaper and easier to get oil by propping up Saddam and paying him a big bribe or two. McCain’s hundred years of war certainly doesn’t mean a hundred years of what has been going on for the last several. In fact, much as you and others my deny it, at the rate things are improving it won’t be needed for anywhere near that long. More like the 10 odd years that most rational analysts predicted when the thing kicked off. Although I grant you some US presence may be there for quite some time longer. (see Germany, Japan, and Korea)
    And yes, I am quite certain that you do not take the deaths of any American soldiers in Iraq lightly.

  6. July 6, 2008 at 8:24 pm

    Illegal? No.
    Immoral? that’s debatable.

    But I am 100% against the Iraq War, completely against it. Why? Because Osama bin Laden is not in Iraq and has never been there. We’re wasting time being there.

    I think McCain’s stance on the Iraq War + the bad economy = an Obama presidency. While I can’t stand either of them, I highly doubt McCain comes within 5 percentage points of Obama because of those two issues. This is becoming a highly unpopular war, and what bothers me even more than the 4k+ Americans who have been killed is the amount of people wounded, missing limbs, and becoming suicidal when they come back. We’ll be paying for this stupid war for the next 50 years, even if we pull out tomorrow.

    My son turns 18 in four years. Although it’s his choice ultimately, he knows how I feel about the war.

  7. July 6, 2008 at 8:26 pm

    Just watched that ad. If that ad gets spread around, I’ll up it to 10 percentage points. His stance on the war will be his undoing.


Leave a Reply

Top Posts

Disclaimer

I am not perfect. I do my best to practice what I preach, but I am human. My mantra is, "DO NO HARM". I may not always succeed, but I will always try. My goal is to be a better person today than I was yesterday.

Fair Use Notice

FAIR USE NOTICE: This site contains copyrighted material the use of which has not always been specifically authorized by the copyright owner. We are making such material available in our efforts to advance understanding of environmental, political, human rights, economic, democracy, scientific, and social justice issues, etc. We believe this constitutes a 'fair use' of any such copyrighted material as provided for in section 107 of the US Copyright Law. In accordance with Title 17 U.S.C. Section 107, the material on this site is distributed without profit to those who have expressed a prior interest in receiving the included information for research and educational purposes. For more information go to: http://www.law.cornell.edu/uscode/17/107.shtml. If you wish to use copyrighted material from this site for purposes of your own that go beyond 'fair use', you must obtain permission from the copyright owner. Incidentally, this notice itself was swiped from Spiiderweb and Dave Away From Home

