03
Jun
08

Goodbye, Rosemont College

Rosemont College has decided to go co-ed. I know that doesn’t mean much to most of you, but it means a great deal to me.  Rosemont was one of the few remaining Women’s Colleges in the country.  The caliber of education rivals that of Harvard and Yale, especially as it is one of the few schools still requiring Undergraduate Seniors to take a comprehensive test (an exam on everything learned in a particular major over 4 years) and write a thesis.  But that is not the biggest loss.

Rosemont is where I learned to be who I am.  I was able to speak up in class because I didn’t feel intimidated by the boys.  I was able to take a leadership role in activities because there was no gender bias.  I felt safe on my campus.  No one had to worry about getting raped on the way back from a party.  The only men on campus at night were the security guards and they were forbidden from seeing students socially.  Our education was what it should be – completely academically oriented, and it shows. Rosemont women have done extraordinary things – from inventing Pampers to being the among the first women to hold Ambassadorships. 

I believe in single sex education, for women and for men.  I believe that the disillusion of the Women’s College will be a great loss to the academic world, but especially to women.  I don’t know how this was allowed to happen.  The alumni were not adequately informed.  I wish the board would consider separating the sexes into different classrooms to allow for the spirit of a Rosemont education to continue, but I know that’s a long-shot.  Goodbye, Rosemont.  The old gray mare, she ain’t what she used to be.

7 Responses to “Goodbye, Rosemont College”


  1. June 3, 2008 at 3:48 pm

    Do you really believe in single sex education?

    Can’t see it myself, breeding ground for all kinds of nonsense regarding the opposite sex and sexuality in general.

    Mixed seems to work fine wouldn’t you say?

  2. June 3, 2008 at 5:15 pm

    I have no problem with single sex education. I do get vastly annoyed at the many (not including you I am glad to see)who think it is okay for women but no okay for men.

  3. June 3, 2008 at 7:33 pm

    I’d agree w/ Daniel here. I always competed in a co-ed environment, and frankly that’s what all women need to learn to do. Sheltering them NOW just keeps them from learning to pipe up and be strong later. In other words, it puts off the inevitable. Better to learn coping and social skills NOW before it can make or break your career.

    As a result of my co-ed upbringing, guys don’t intimidate me and never have. I find it rather surprising to hear that YOU were ever intimidated by guys in a learning environment. Somehow, I never pictured that.

  4. 4 unitedwelay1
    June 4, 2008 at 7:26 am

    Daniel and Saur,
    I really do believe in single sex education. I do just fine speaking up in the workplace and in my daily life, but it was Rosemont that gave me the confidence to do so. Everyone builds confidence in different ways. Everyone learns in different ways. If we make allowences for all types of learning, it can only lead to a better educated nation. I would have gotten lost in a co-ed school. I suffered from depression as an adolescent (and somewhat now) and I had difficulty expressing myself. In a small classroom it’s difficult to hide, and among other women, the environment feels different. I grew up with all boys and was often muscled out of various things. I needed the 4 years at Rosemont to remind me that I had something to contribute to the world around me, to give me opportunities to build my leadership skills that I wouldn’t necessarily have had somewhere else, and to build the social (and political) skills necessary for a working environment.

    Exmi,
    Like I said, people learn in different ways. I don’t think it’s okay to hide behind single-sex education and use it as an excuse not to interact with the opposite sex in a healthy manner, but I do think it’s important to make allowances for the fact that not everyone feels comfortable around the opposite sex all the time. Some men are extremely shy and won’t answer questions or ask them in a class with women because they don’t want to appear stupid, and the same is true for women. I don’t think anyone should end up with a second-rate education because they are intimidated.

  5. 5 Sam
    January 28, 2009 at 7:48 pm

    My cousin goes to Rosemont (I’m looking at it myself). I think she said that only 20% of the population will be men.

  6. 6 unitedwelay1
    March 1, 2009 at 8:53 am

    Sam,
    I’m sure that’s true now, but remember that having ANY men there goes against the reason many of the alum went there in the first place. There is a very real need for single-sex education, both for men and women

  7. 7 Sam
    March 16, 2009 at 8:48 pm

    Have no fear- I totally agree with you. Majority of the colleges (3 of 5) I am looking at are only for women. I think that going to a women’s college will give me a lot of experiences that I won’t get a co-ed place.


Leave a Reply

Top Posts

Disclaimer

I am not perfect. I do my best to practice what I preach, but I am human. My mantra is, "DO NO HARM". I may not always succeed, but I will always try. My goal is to be a better person today than I was yesterday.

Fair Use Notice

FAIR USE NOTICE: This site contains copyrighted material the use of which has not always been specifically authorized by the copyright owner. We are making such material available in our efforts to advance understanding of environmental, political, human rights, economic, democracy, scientific, and social justice issues, etc. We believe this constitutes a 'fair use' of any such copyrighted material as provided for in section 107 of the US Copyright Law. In accordance with Title 17 U.S.C. Section 107, the material on this site is distributed without profit to those who have expressed a prior interest in receiving the included information for research and educational purposes. For more information go to: http://www.law.cornell.edu/uscode/17/107.shtml. If you wish to use copyrighted material from this site for purposes of your own that go beyond 'fair use', you must obtain permission from the copyright owner. Incidentally, this notice itself was swiped from Spiiderweb and Dave Away From Home

