03
May
08

The Unfunny Truth About Scientology

I think this speaks for itself, but I find Scientology disturbing.  I am of the opinion that L. Ron Hubbard may have been disillusioned by Hollywood and the corruption therein and came up with a “religion” to watch the crazies destroy themselves.  I also believe that the “truth” of the 8th level of Scientology is that it’s all bullshit.  I should mention that while living in Clearwater I was in the hotel where Lisa McPhearson died.  The place had a really eerie feeling about it.

7 Responses to “The Unfunny Truth About Scientology”


  1. May 6, 2008 at 5:25 pm

    My understanding is that Scientology is the result of a bet between Hubbard and his sci-fi writing pal Robert Heinlein. Ever read Heinlein’s “Stranger In A Strange Land”? Sounds suspiciously like the set-up at Scientology.

  2. May 7, 2008 at 11:22 am

    Yeah, I know it very well, having grown up in that city. And I can attest to so much more than you see from personal experience and the personal experience of many others (including current politicians who privately tell stories that will make your hair curl, but they love the Scientology Dollar).

    Daveawayfromhome’s right, BTW. But it wasn’t really a bet… it’s just that in a magazine interview, good ole Hubbard said that inventing a religion would be much more profitable than his career as a sci fi writer, and then he set out to do it.

  3. 3 unitedwelay1
    May 8, 2008 at 7:15 am

    Dave,
    I’ve read the book and loved it, and have even considered as a sociological experiment setting up my own religion.

    Saur,
    That place is creepy. Every scientologist I’ve ever met has a sense of “I’m better than you are”. Gotta love special interest groups.

  4. 4 Deb
    May 11, 2008 at 10:39 am

    I am of the opinion that RLH was a paranoid schizophrenic. There is much data on his history with the mental health field and the lack of assistance he got (mostly due to his own poor choices).

    Anything that promotes a totalitarian approach is a dangerous one.

  5. 5 unitedwelay1
    May 13, 2008 at 7:04 am

    I wonder about that. I think it’s interesting that schientologist prey on the mentally unstable. I don’t know how it would work, but couldn’t family memebers make the argument that once someone is off their meds, they are no longer able to make decisions for themselves and fight the transferring of money to the scientologists? I wonder how one starts a religion.

  6. May 17, 2008 at 7:12 pm

    Or it may have been a really bad joke to see just how stupid Hollywood celebrities are. Turns out, yes, they really are as stupid as Hubbard thought. I got to give the guy credit. He convinces stupid actors and actresses all about Xenu and space ships that look just like DC-8s. Too funny. I’d be laughing all the way to the bank.

  7. June 1, 2008 at 10:02 am

    A cult that exposes all religions as cults that have just been going longer than the 50s.


Leave a Reply

Top Posts

Disclaimer

I am not perfect. I do my best to practice what I preach, but I am human. My mantra is, "DO NO HARM". I may not always succeed, but I will always try. My goal is to be a better person today than I was yesterday.

Fair Use Notice

FAIR USE NOTICE: This site contains copyrighted material the use of which has not always been specifically authorized by the copyright owner. We are making such material available in our efforts to advance understanding of environmental, political, human rights, economic, democracy, scientific, and social justice issues, etc. We believe this constitutes a 'fair use' of any such copyrighted material as provided for in section 107 of the US Copyright Law. In accordance with Title 17 U.S.C. Section 107, the material on this site is distributed without profit to those who have expressed a prior interest in receiving the included information for research and educational purposes. For more information go to: http://www.law.cornell.edu/uscode/17/107.shtml. If you wish to use copyrighted material from this site for purposes of your own that go beyond 'fair use', you must obtain permission from the copyright owner. Incidentally, this notice itself was swiped from Spiiderweb and Dave Away From Home

