09
Jan
08

Don’t Drink the Water

At my school, it’s not just an expression.  We’re starting to believe it’s true.  Out of 100 female students, 45 of them are pregnant or have had a child.  Even more have had an abortion or miscarriage.  When I ask them if they used a condom, most of them look at me like I’ve lost my mind.  Birth control pills are expensive and condoms even more so, especially if you’re having sex more than three times a week.  Male egos run rampant in this community (which is how the girls explain the lack of condom use), and unfortunately male responsibility does not (which is how the girls explain having to drop out of school).   I can’t help but feel like we’re failing these girls, and I don’t know what we can do to alleviate the problem.

3 Responses to “Don’t Drink the Water”


  1. January 10, 2008 at 5:39 pm

    My cousin, who now has 3 kids he can barely afford to support because, as his wife told me, he refuses to wear condoms because they decrease the sensation. Hellooooo. Talk about selfishness.

    Yes, there’s a lot of machismo lurking around condom use and giving women/girls equal share in sexual decisions. Birth control is expensive. Last time I checked, the only form of birth control that is covered 100% by all medical plans (including medicaid) is full sterilization. It’s a travesty and a shame that there aren’t more options out there.

  2. 2 unitedwelay1
    January 15, 2008 at 7:54 am

    It’s the height of selfishness, and that’s one of the problems our girls are running into. They equate sex with love and they have no idea that they have the power. All they have to do is close their legs. I think our society is just as much to blame as anything else. They don’t seem to have grossly immoral teens in most of the countries my friends live in. The more I teach in the school I’m in, the more I see the corelation between the break-up of the American family and the disinigration of our society as a whole.

  3. January 20, 2008 at 12:24 pm

    Just wait until STDs mutate even more. There are already strains of syphillis that can’t be beaten by penicillin. the problem with Mother Nature though is she takes too dang long.


Leave a Reply

Top Posts

Disclaimer

I am not perfect. I do my best to practice what I preach, but I am human. My mantra is, "DO NO HARM". I may not always succeed, but I will always try. My goal is to be a better person today than I was yesterday.

Fair Use Notice

FAIR USE NOTICE: This site contains copyrighted material the use of which has not always been specifically authorized by the copyright owner. We are making such material available in our efforts to advance understanding of environmental, political, human rights, economic, democracy, scientific, and social justice issues, etc. We believe this constitutes a 'fair use' of any such copyrighted material as provided for in section 107 of the US Copyright Law. In accordance with Title 17 U.S.C. Section 107, the material on this site is distributed without profit to those who have expressed a prior interest in receiving the included information for research and educational purposes. For more information go to: http://www.law.cornell.edu/uscode/17/107.shtml. If you wish to use copyrighted material from this site for purposes of your own that go beyond 'fair use', you must obtain permission from the copyright owner. Incidentally, this notice itself was swiped from Spiiderweb and Dave Away From Home

