31
Aug
07

Iowa Sees the Light (*almost)

Seeing a story like this gives me the same glimmer of hope I get from seeing blog posts that are not all that different from my opinion.  It reminds me that there are people out there with enough sense to do the right thing (except for the gays who are having clandestine sex in bathroom stalls).  It reminds me that the theocracy hasn’t quite taken over yet, and gives me hope that they won’t especially when gay-marriage is sanctioned in a mid-western state.  Yes, that’s right ladies and gentleman, Iowa courts have determined that gays are people, too, and they deserve the right to have a committed relationship.  I would much rather the rest of the country, especially our over-extended military, finally get their heads out of their butts and recognize that homosexuals deserve the same rights and privilages as the rest of us, but I’m not holding my breath.  I will leave you with this thought, though: If your son or daughter were gay, wouldn’t you want your child to be able to be treated like every one else and have every legal protection afforded you? 

*Update – Judge Hanson, the judge who made the ruling, has already issued a legal stay meaning no licenses can be issued until the Iowa Supreme Court rules. The latest survey shows 61% of Iowans are against gay marriage so Laura, even “middle America” is against it. Judge Hanson is is in the minority. (Thanks, Ed)  My bubble is burst, my hope is dashed.  I hate middle America.

3,733 US soldiers killed in Iraq.  27,662 US soldiers wounded in Iraq.  Now including one more soldier I know and love.

12 Responses to “Iowa Sees the Light (*almost)”


  1. August 31, 2007 at 8:12 am

    Not yet. It hasn’t been through the Iowa Supreme Court yet I think their ruling will put a stop to it. It the Iowa Supreme Court doesn’t by some off chance, I think there will be a huge backlash next fall and Iowa will once again become a red state and the law will be short lived.

  2. August 31, 2007 at 9:37 am

    We’ll see if this actually stands up. It’s encouraging to see this in “middle america” as opposed to commie pinko cities like New York…

    I do have to point out that your statement “do the right thing (for the gays who are not having clandestine sex in bathroom stalls)” implies that people who do have clandestine sex in bathrooms are undeserving of the same rights. I don’t think gays (or women) will ever have equal rights under the law until we stop qualifying what forms of sexual expression are more ‘valid’ than others… just something to think about.

  3. August 31, 2007 at 2:26 pm

    I can’t answer that last question, but I can say that if my son or daughter were straight, I would love them just the same. My partner and I tease our dog sometime because she has two daddies. Not that she can really think about such things, but what is important is that she lives in a loving home. If only all children were as lucky.

    There was an interesting article on Live Science this week that provided evidence that civil unions were a common part of life in Europe over 600 years ago.

    The more of this that comes to pass, the better. Out and happy gay people are not going to cause the downfall of society nor are we any danger to heterosexual marriage. Neither are we likely to have sex in public restrooms. I prefer candlelight dinners and long talks before intimacy and the ring on my finger means more to me than (sadly) most will ever know.

  4. August 31, 2007 at 4:01 pm

    Actually, I should clarify my last statement… forms of sexual expression between consenting adults.

  5. August 31, 2007 at 6:12 pm

    FYI: Judge Hanson, the judge who made the ruling, has already issued a legal stay meaning no licenses can be issued until the Iowa Supreme Court rules. The latest survey shows 61% of Iowans are against gay marriage so Laura, even “middle America” is against it. Judge Hanson is is in the minority.

  6. 6 unitedwelay1
    August 31, 2007 at 8:29 pm

    Ed,
    That really sucks. I guess I’ll have to retract my postand my atatements. And move to a country with a moral conscience.

  7. August 31, 2007 at 8:44 pm

    I gotta go with Ed on this one. It seems like every step forward turns into two wing tip-clad steps back.

    I did hear an interesting premise today…gay activists ought to start campaigning against heterosexual divorce. Only seems fair to me…turnabout is fair play.

  8. September 1, 2007 at 3:17 pm

    of all the ironies, the very first gay marriage happens in Iowa. Gotta love it.

    For the record, if I were running the show, this would be a non-issue. As long as 2 people are 18 or older and they’re not immediate family. Those would be my only 2 rules.

  9. September 1, 2007 at 4:44 pm

    A tiny window of tolerance opened up and a small marriage happened . . .

    Then the crushing monsters of intolerance slammed it shut again. It won’t be the end .. . these small steps, crushing defeats, and return to the fight are the patterns of a repressed class moving forward in society.

  10. 10 unitedwelay1
    September 2, 2007 at 10:39 am

    Rick,
    It’s just so frustrating!

  11. September 2, 2007 at 1:54 pm

    It is frustrating . . . but there really is no permanent halt to progress . . . even Stalin and his successors couldn’t hold progress off for more than a couple generations. It’s awful to watch and participate in the struggle, but someday equal treatment for the GLBT will be taken for granted.

  12. September 4, 2007 at 11:50 am

    One more update: The forecasted date for a Iowa Supreme Court review will be sometime in 2009. One couple beat the stay deadline and were married. Since the Iowa Congress is democrat controlled, I think it will be interesting to see what happens in this upcoming election cycle. Already I see hints of this becoming a major campaign issue.


Leave a Reply

Top Posts

Disclaimer

I am not perfect. I do my best to practice what I preach, but I am human. My mantra is, "DO NO HARM". I may not always succeed, but I will always try. My goal is to be a better person today than I was yesterday.

Fair Use Notice

FAIR USE NOTICE: This site contains copyrighted material the use of which has not always been specifically authorized by the copyright owner. We are making such material available in our efforts to advance understanding of environmental, political, human rights, economic, democracy, scientific, and social justice issues, etc. We believe this constitutes a 'fair use' of any such copyrighted material as provided for in section 107 of the US Copyright Law. In accordance with Title 17 U.S.C. Section 107, the material on this site is distributed without profit to those who have expressed a prior interest in receiving the included information for research and educational purposes. For more information go to: http://www.law.cornell.edu/uscode/17/107.shtml. If you wish to use copyrighted material from this site for purposes of your own that go beyond 'fair use', you must obtain permission from the copyright owner. Incidentally, this notice itself was swiped from Spiiderweb and Dave Away From Home

