16
Feb
07

How Long ’til my Soul Gets it Right?

Karma’s a bitch. I just wish I’d known that when I was 21. Now I’m nearly 30 and reaping what I’ve sown. I used to be the one to break up with people. I didn’t play games, exactly, but I didn’t really think about what I was doing. I’m sure thinking about it now. I could be somewhere else completely. With someone else entirely. Sure, I wouldn’t have my son, but I wouldn’t be in this position, either.

I had someone who was in love with me once. Truly, madly, and deeply. I was too young and too wrapped up in myself to know how rare that is. I let it go, and boy do I regret it. Really, what does one do when they’re trapped in a marriage with someone who’s not in love with them? Usually they leave, but of course, there’s the boy to think of. He deserves a father. Even more importantly, he deserves HIS father. So, I guess if we stay together, my son and I have both gotten what we deserve.

4 Responses to “How Long ’til my Soul Gets it Right?”


  1. 1 tweetey29
    February 16, 2007 at 9:42 pm

    You know no one deserves to be unhappy here. I mean if he doesnt love you or your son I would walk. I mean he can still see his dad. I hate when people stay together just because they think its best for the kids. Sometimes it does more damage than helping them. I got your name off tshsmoms blog this afternoon when checking up on her.

    Life is to short to live with someone who doesnt deserve you. I would pack up and get out before your son gets to old. I mean I am no religion freak like some people and wont leave because of that either but you and your son need happiness in your family and life. I am not preaching because I dont know you. I just saw this post and thought I needed to say what needed saying. Tweets.

  2. 2 United We Lay
    February 18, 2007 at 11:30 pm

    I appriciate the support! We decided to try marriage counseling first. I’m not completely confident that it will work, and he realizes he has a lot to prove to me at this point. I think I owe it to my son and myself to try, but if things don’t improve in the next 6 months, it’s time to move on.

  3. 3 Ed Abbey
    May 8, 2007 at 4:38 pm

    I haven’t blogged about this much on my blog but my parents divorced when I was six. They married way to young and before they realized what love was. My mom would later go on to meet a man who truly loved her and her children. My stepdad has been my father for the last 15 years and I wouldn’t trade him back for my biological one. I don’t think kids need a father in their lives especially if they aren’t being a father. If counciling doesn’t work out, I’m sure your child will be just find without a father and possibly better off if you find someone truly in love with you some day in the future.

  4. 4 United We Lay
    May 18, 2007 at 1:31 pm

    Ed,
    I ddin’t see this comment until just now. I appricate you telling me this. I’m having such a difficult time right now and I don’t know how to get through it. It’s only possible because of my son, but it hurts so much.


Leave a Reply

Top Posts

Disclaimer

I am not perfect. I do my best to practice what I preach, but I am human. My mantra is, "DO NO HARM". I may not always succeed, but I will always try. My goal is to be a better person today than I was yesterday.

Fair Use Notice

FAIR USE NOTICE: This site contains copyrighted material the use of which has not always been specifically authorized by the copyright owner. We are making such material available in our efforts to advance understanding of environmental, political, human rights, economic, democracy, scientific, and social justice issues, etc. We believe this constitutes a 'fair use' of any such copyrighted material as provided for in section 107 of the US Copyright Law. In accordance with Title 17 U.S.C. Section 107, the material on this site is distributed without profit to those who have expressed a prior interest in receiving the included information for research and educational purposes. For more information go to: http://www.law.cornell.edu/uscode/17/107.shtml. If you wish to use copyrighted material from this site for purposes of your own that go beyond 'fair use', you must obtain permission from the copyright owner. Incidentally, this notice itself was swiped from Spiiderweb and Dave Away From Home

