03
Feb
07

Christians Seem Happy

People who don’t believe in religion (or non-believers) often don’t understand the appeal of Christianity. Since they have rejected it on principle, they often overlook the very powerful psychological and sociological elements that Preachers use to increase and manipulate their flock. The careful use of these elements increases the happiness or the perception of happiness in people of the Christian faith.

First, Christians seem happy because every question they could ever ask has been answered in the Bible. Even if the answer goes against common sense or is incredibly old fashioned it’s still an answer. Not only that, it’s an answer they believe to be sanctioned by the creator of all things. If there is ever doubt, the Preacher is there to remind them that it is not their place to question the answer, it is only their place to live by it. No thinking is required. Thought and discussion leads to a disquieted mind, which can lead to unhappiness. If a Christian’s mind is rarely disquieted, he or she is happier, or at least appears to be so.

Second, Preachers remind their flock over and over again that there is no suffering in the next life, so nothing that could happen to anyone in this life really matters. This is a powerful notion. If someone believes that there will be an and to their suffering, even though it may not be in sight, they are more easily able to bear their current burden. Reminding a person that they will eventually live in a place where only happiness exists can lift their mood, if even only for a short period of time.

Third, those being offered the carrot are much happier than those subjected only to the stick. Christians are repeated told that they will go to heaven, and there they will be with God. Who doesn’t want to be with God? And most Christians believe that in order to go to heaven, all they really need to do is believe in Jesus Christ, who loves them unconditionally regardless of their actions. Who wouldn’t be happy about that?

Finally, believing that someone died to give you a better life gives people a sense of self-importance and makes them feel more valuable. Christians also feel like they “owe” it to Jesus to live up to his (or the Preacher’s) standards. This idea gives people a mission and allows for a sense of accomplishment when one feels they have “done right by God”.

8 Responses to “Christians Seem Happy”


  1. 1 greatwhitebear
    February 16, 2007 at 4:23 pm

    Having spent the first thirty five years of my life as active evangelical, I can tell you that the illusion of being happier is just that, an illusion.

    christains have all the same daily tribulations as the rst of us, and repeating certain “mantra” doesn’t make them og away.

  2. 2 tweetey29
    February 16, 2007 at 9:35 pm

    You know I got your name off tshsmoms blog just now. I thought I would stop by and say hi.

    I have something to say here. I was brought without God and his presence in my parents home. Now I am adult of course and my husband and I do bible studies once a week with our pastor. You know I feel that I want to quit doing that most of the time. I have a hard time with them esp of late. We have missed for two weeks now and I feel like I have nothing sitting on my shoulders like I would if we were still doing them every week. I dread the day when he calls to come over and says lets do this. I really liked them at first but after a while I started dreading them and church. We stopped going to church and just kept the bible studies going because all the women in his church thought they are better than us. That is right there are no men besides my husband that attend this church. We are the only whole family that attends when we go. A father,mother and children. Its either just women, or children who attend this church of late. The pastor is trying to build a church so they are in a one room at a community center. I am not saying there is anything wrong with believing but I am having a hard time with it of late.

  3. 3 United We Lay
    February 19, 2007 at 12:00 am

    GWB,
    I know. I’ve met so many christians wom I feel are “faking it”. They are told so constantly that they should be happy because God loves them that they tend not to focus as much on reality.

  4. 4 United We Lay
    February 19, 2007 at 12:02 am

    Tweety,
    I feel that a lot of times a church offers a sense of community that people don’t find elsewhere, and that what makes it so appealing.

  5. July 14, 2007 at 1:03 pm

    Those ideas might be true for some but certainly not for all.

    The Bible has all the answers we need but it even teaches that it does not have all the answers. And it does teach us to use our minds – http://4simpsons.wordpress.com/2007/07/13/exploring-christianity-part-9-open-mindedness/

    Christians who don’t think are being lazy.

    I encourage you to think about Christians around the world and not just those in the U.S. Many Christians suffer for their faith. They may not be “happy” about it but they are still joyful. I remember what life was like before Jesus and I can say that I am happier and more joyful now.

  6. 6 unitedwelay1
    July 15, 2007 at 1:29 pm

    Neil,
    I agree. Anyone who doesn’t think is being lazy. Religious people have a propensity for group thought that I find extremely troubling. I don’t need to worry about Chirstians around the world. I worry about what Christians are like right here at home, becase they are the ones that effect me. American Christians are close-minded and dangerous. I don’t believe in religion overall. I think it distracts the mind.

  7. July 15, 2007 at 6:51 pm

    Hi United,

    Believe me, I’m no fan of “religion” and I find plenty to criticize in the church. One of the reasons is that much of the talk distracts from what I see as the central message of the Gospel: We are sinners, that separates us from God and the only antidote is Jesus.

    Aside from the irritations we may have at people who don’t think or act like we do, what do you see as the problem with the human condition, the meaning of life, etc.? Would you agree that if there is a God then however He laid out the universe is how we have to live in it, regardless of what religious people say?

  8. 8 unitedwelay1
    July 16, 2007 at 9:53 pm

    The message of Jesus may be part of thr antidote, but to claim that he is the only antidote is ridiculous. To say that one group of people know what’s right and wrong is just as bad. We make mistakes. We can’t change that. We can try to live our lives better and make up for those mistakes. Jesus and god have nothing to do with it. I explain this more in my “Catholicism: What I Like” post. There is no problem with the human condition. It is what we make it.


Leave a Reply

Top Posts

Disclaimer

I am not perfect. I do my best to practice what I preach, but I am human. My mantra is, "DO NO HARM". I may not always succeed, but I will always try. My goal is to be a better person today than I was yesterday.

Fair Use Notice

FAIR USE NOTICE: This site contains copyrighted material the use of which has not always been specifically authorized by the copyright owner. We are making such material available in our efforts to advance understanding of environmental, political, human rights, economic, democracy, scientific, and social justice issues, etc. We believe this constitutes a 'fair use' of any such copyrighted material as provided for in section 107 of the US Copyright Law. In accordance with Title 17 U.S.C. Section 107, the material on this site is distributed without profit to those who have expressed a prior interest in receiving the included information for research and educational purposes. For more information go to: http://www.law.cornell.edu/uscode/17/107.shtml. If you wish to use copyrighted material from this site for purposes of your own that go beyond 'fair use', you must obtain permission from the copyright owner. Incidentally, this notice itself was swiped from Spiiderweb and Dave Away From Home

