02
Jan
07

Got Faith?

One of my students once asked, “If you don’t believe in God, who do you thank when you’re grateful for something?” It was a great question. People who learn of my beliefs often ask questions like these, kids especially.

Here is my answer: I am grateful for the blessings in my life. I don’t have to believe that they come from anyone or anything (but I don’t discredit those who do). I can enjoy my blessings, take advantage of them, and turn them into new ones. When I am angry or sad, there is no one to blame. I find that I accept things faster than those around me (even death), and I wonder if it’s because I don’t believe in the divine hand. I accept that life is constant change, part of that change is death, and there is nothing I can do about it. Accepting it is the best option. Maybe this sounds heartless, but why waste time on death when there is so much to experience in life? When I am depressed or in a bad situation, I can only rely on myself to get out of it. The charity of others is always accepted but not expected, and the creator of the universe (if there is another but science) is too busy to be concerned with whatever problem I may have at the moment.

I understand religion and why people believe with all their hearts in the “truth” of God. It’s just not for me. I don’t know what makes me different, but I’ve always been this way. I got kicked out of a Sunday School class for asking too many questions. I didn’t understand faith and I still don’t. I have never been willing to accept what people tell me if it can’t be proven. I’m not even sure I accept that Buddha existed, I just know that I agree with the teachings attributed to him. What are people willing or unwilling to accept on faith? Why? What does faith even mean?

0 Responses to “Got Faith?”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Top Posts

Disclaimer

I am not perfect. I do my best to practice what I preach, but I am human. My mantra is, "DO NO HARM". I may not always succeed, but I will always try. My goal is to be a better person today than I was yesterday.

Fair Use Notice

FAIR USE NOTICE: This site contains copyrighted material the use of which has not always been specifically authorized by the copyright owner. We are making such material available in our efforts to advance understanding of environmental, political, human rights, economic, democracy, scientific, and social justice issues, etc. We believe this constitutes a 'fair use' of any such copyrighted material as provided for in section 107 of the US Copyright Law. In accordance with Title 17 U.S.C. Section 107, the material on this site is distributed without profit to those who have expressed a prior interest in receiving the included information for research and educational purposes. For more information go to: http://www.law.cornell.edu/uscode/17/107.shtml. If you wish to use copyrighted material from this site for purposes of your own that go beyond 'fair use', you must obtain permission from the copyright owner. Incidentally, this notice itself was swiped from Spiiderweb and Dave Away From Home

