02
Dec
06

Recruit Me Not

As the school year approaches, the issue of military recruiters in school is coming into the forefront again. This is an issue that bothers me as a teacher, and when I see the recruiters at lunch, I always stand near them. I have caught several in lies and corrected them immediately, earning me several dirty looks and a conference with the principal, whom I informed that I would not allow recruiters to blatantly lie to my students, even if it got me fired. It nearly did, but there was nothing they could do to me since I hadn’t actually done anything wrong. Students are impressionable and recruiters are not as honest as some might think. I really believe that a parent or school official should be present when a child speaks to a recruiter. I also believe that the “opt-out” form used to keep recruiters and other outsiders from getting student information is not always used correctly. In some schools, if a student does not want to be contacted by a recruiter, he or she may not have their personal information or picture in the yearbook. What kind of message is that sending to our kids? Your choice is to be harassed by recruiters or not be in your high school yearbook. Recruiters should only be allowed in schools if there is a career fair. They should only be allowed to contact students that REQUEST information.

2 Responses to “Recruit Me Not”


  1. 1 rebecca
    August 20, 2008 at 1:02 am

    i have been harassed for two years by recruiters trying to get my sons recruited. i have repeatedly told them that we are not interested. i have complained to the supervisor three times. on the third time he said we had never spoken. and when i asked for his commanding officers name he refused to give it to me. he said that i may be a terrorist and giving that information to me would be risky. i gave him my name address and phone number to assure him that i was not a terrorist. after 15 minutes of asking repetedly for the info of his commander he finally gave it to me. i have left messages for the commander and have not received a response. i have left complaints with several different people in the army and have not heard a thing. every single person that has called over the two years has said that they would stop the calls. i am still getting them. what can i do and who do i complain to?

  2. 2 unitedwelay1
    August 20, 2008 at 8:38 am

    The best thing for you to do is meet with them in person. Remember that you can file a harassment suit against military personnel and it sounds like this is the only thing you can do. Go to the recritment office and get their full names, then go directly to the police stattion and file a restraining order.


Leave a Reply

Top Posts

Disclaimer

I am not perfect. I do my best to practice what I preach, but I am human. My mantra is, "DO NO HARM". I may not always succeed, but I will always try. My goal is to be a better person today than I was yesterday.

Fair Use Notice

FAIR USE NOTICE: This site contains copyrighted material the use of which has not always been specifically authorized by the copyright owner. We are making such material available in our efforts to advance understanding of environmental, political, human rights, economic, democracy, scientific, and social justice issues, etc. We believe this constitutes a 'fair use' of any such copyrighted material as provided for in section 107 of the US Copyright Law. In accordance with Title 17 U.S.C. Section 107, the material on this site is distributed without profit to those who have expressed a prior interest in receiving the included information for research and educational purposes. For more information go to: http://www.law.cornell.edu/uscode/17/107.shtml. If you wish to use copyrighted material from this site for purposes of your own that go beyond 'fair use', you must obtain permission from the copyright owner. Incidentally, this notice itself was swiped from Spiiderweb and Dave Away From Home

