01
Dec
06

The Little Red Schoolhouse

Following the education theme, let me tell you about my dream school. It is called The Little Red School House. It will be small, admitting very few students, grades 6 – 12. All of the students will meet in the same room year-round, and all of them must live in the same community. There will be several two-week breaks throughout the year. Students will spend one of those breaks traveling overseas (fees included with tuition) with their teachers (me and someone to teach science and math) and their families (that’ll cost extra), and the other one traveling to a U.S. destination with the aforementioned people.

There will be a rigorous curriculum adhering to my high standards and the state’s lesser ones. Parents will be required to sign all homework assignments. They will also be required to drive to and chaperone 3 field trips a year. We’ll go on a lot of field trips. Students will learn to do a lot of research and writing. Teachers, students, and parents will participate in community service as a group.

I only want to charge enough tuition to cover expenses (such as materials, trips, and salaries), and I’m willing to itemize the tuition for parents. I only want $40,000 dollars a year, which may eventually have to be adjusted for inflation, but only as a LAST resort. My best guess is that if I admit 30 students, include books and copying fees in tuition, and get good prices on trips, I’ll only have to charge $4000 a year. I know that sounds like a lot, but there are schools that charge a lot more than that. Plus, if I can get grants and sponsors, I can charge less.

Now all I need are the start-up costs, the building, the students, and a charter.

0 Responses to “The Little Red Schoolhouse”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Top Posts

Disclaimer

I am not perfect. I do my best to practice what I preach, but I am human. My mantra is, "DO NO HARM". I may not always succeed, but I will always try. My goal is to be a better person today than I was yesterday.

Fair Use Notice

FAIR USE NOTICE: This site contains copyrighted material the use of which has not always been specifically authorized by the copyright owner. We are making such material available in our efforts to advance understanding of environmental, political, human rights, economic, democracy, scientific, and social justice issues, etc. We believe this constitutes a 'fair use' of any such copyrighted material as provided for in section 107 of the US Copyright Law. In accordance with Title 17 U.S.C. Section 107, the material on this site is distributed without profit to those who have expressed a prior interest in receiving the included information for research and educational purposes. For more information go to: http://www.law.cornell.edu/uscode/17/107.shtml. If you wish to use copyrighted material from this site for purposes of your own that go beyond 'fair use', you must obtain permission from the copyright owner. Incidentally, this notice itself was swiped from Spiiderweb and Dave Away From Home

