31
May
06

For the Summer

Though summer is a great time to relax and spend time with the kids, it’s also important that you don’t let what they’ve learned during the school year slip away. Some parents choose to use flash cards or workbooks, which help, but can be extremely boring for a child who wants to run outside and play. There are hundreds of activities you can do with your children, and if you have trouble coming up with some on your own, there are projects at craft stores like Michaels and A.C. Moore and specialty toy stores like The Discovery Channel Store and Learning Express (no, I’m not getting ANY endorsements) that are a lot of fun for the entire family.

For a free solution, there are state parks all over the country, and many of them have low or no-cost summer programs for children or the family. You can take younger children on a textile walk. Simply go for a walk around the neighborhood. Point out things that you see and encourage children to do the same. Ask kids what they look like, smell like, and feel like. Depending on how close you are, Washington D.C. has many activities that are great for the family, and all of the Smithsonians are free. If you can afford it, summer camp is a great way to keep your kids socializing and get them involved in some outdoor activities. Many YMCA’s offer an affordable option.

3 Responses to “For the Summer”


  1. 1 michelle
    June 1, 2006 at 2:28 am

    Summer camp has been great to our family. Some camps are not that expensive. I pay $54.00 per week to send my little guy. The hours are 7am – 4pm. Big guy (middle school) goes for $68.00 per week and the hours are 7:30am – 6pm. Not bad. Start checking in Febuary. Camp sign up starts as early at March.

  2. 2 United We Lay
    June 1, 2006 at 1:29 pm

    Thanks for adding that. I always went to summer camp, mostly because my mom worked full-time, but it’s beneficial for all students.

  3. 3 michelle
    June 12, 2006 at 2:25 pm

    I saw you are checking out the book. I have heard and read summaries of discipline books before but never bought one.

    My little one is 50lbs. He pushed his limits and then some one day. It was obvious quicly that my 110lbs was no match for a good old fashioned spanking. It took 1/2 to battle and of course by then we both look like fools.

    The kids looking foolish is one thing, but when I became part of the argument instead of the solution I knew it was time for something better.

    I feel this book takes everything I have ever done or thought of and added to it. This book has given me ideas on how to “work it all out” and make things go smoother. It does not belittle the child in anyway. As a matter of fact I think it will help the kids think for themself and realize on their own what behavior needs to change.

    It is a quick read. It is at the library. Let me know what you think if you decide to read.


Leave a Reply

Top Posts

Disclaimer

I am not perfect. I do my best to practice what I preach, but I am human. My mantra is, "DO NO HARM". I may not always succeed, but I will always try. My goal is to be a better person today than I was yesterday.

Fair Use Notice

FAIR USE NOTICE: This site contains copyrighted material the use of which has not always been specifically authorized by the copyright owner. We are making such material available in our efforts to advance understanding of environmental, political, human rights, economic, democracy, scientific, and social justice issues, etc. We believe this constitutes a 'fair use' of any such copyrighted material as provided for in section 107 of the US Copyright Law. In accordance with Title 17 U.S.C. Section 107, the material on this site is distributed without profit to those who have expressed a prior interest in receiving the included information for research and educational purposes. For more information go to: http://www.law.cornell.edu/uscode/17/107.shtml. If you wish to use copyrighted material from this site for purposes of your own that go beyond 'fair use', you must obtain permission from the copyright owner. Incidentally, this notice itself was swiped from Spiiderweb and Dave Away From Home

